12 months of sensory dough

Foam Dough

As I start getting myself organized for the New Year, I made some goals for my kids’ school and for my blog.  As I was exploring the blogosphere I found this neat 12 month series that is starting this month.  It’s 12 Months of Sensory Dough hosted by Lemon Lime Adventures.  They offer a new sensory dough recipe each month and many bloggers link up their experiences with it.

This month is Foam Dough.  It’s only two ingredients and there’s no recipe; shaving cream and cornstarch (we added food coloring too) .  We started with about equal amounts of each.  David made his purple and Evie made hers green.  Actually David wanted red and blue.  This was a good reminder about mixing colors.

Evie wasn’t quite sure about this at first.
then it got better!
Thomas wanted to play too, but I didn’t want him to eat the shaving cream or rub it in his eyes, so……
he just got some cornstarch.
He liked it!

It took a while, but the dough started coming together to form a ball.

This dough was a little messier than the playdough we usually make, but it was fun.  They had fun adding one ingredient, then the other to get a good consistency. We used fractions, color mixing and molded shapes.

It did clean up very easily.  My kitchen smelled great from the shaving cream and my table was VERY clean after I wiped it down.  Maybe for our next activity I will let them spread shaving cream all over the table and finger paint with it!  Yay for clean tables!!!

To see others experiences with foam dough, click here for the link up at the bottom of the page.  Also follow the Sensory dough Pinterest Board. 

5 thoughts on “Foam Dough”

  1. I love how Evie is all “I’m not so sure about this” and then she has a big smile on her face. 🙂 I am so new to these doughs as well. We have always just stuck with regular Playdoh so this is going to be quite an experience this year. I’m excited your playing along!…And yes…YAYYY for clean tables! 🙂

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.