Ultimate Phonics Reading Program Review

For the past few weeks we have been working with Ultimate Phonics Reading Program from Spencer Learning.  I received this downloadable phonics reading program to review.  When I was looking at the description of this program I thought I would use this with my daughter Evie.  She is 5 1/2 and in Kindergarten and just starting to read.  She is still working on letter recognition and sounds.  She is learning to read at her own pace which is much slower than most phonics programs suggest.  I did find that this was a great review for my 10 year old (5th grade) son David.  He was delayed in his reading, but has improved by leaps and bounds this summer.  I used this program as a supplement for both of them.  My adult dyslexic child would have loved this when she was doing school.  Screen work is easier for her and there is no worry about handwriting when working on reading.

I was concerned about having issues downloading this program using my ancient Windows Vista laptop, but I had no problem at all.  The download was easy and quick.  I received a product key and can use this program on multiple computers in our house.  System requirements are Windows 10, 8, 7, Vista, XP; or for Macs, OSX 10.5.8 or higher. The software come with lifetime updates.

The Ultimate Phonics Reading Program is for beginning learners, middle/high school students, struggling readers, students with dyslexia, autism, English as a second language.  The lessons are short and to the point.  There is nothing in the program to make it feel like it is for small children.  There are 262 progressive lessons that help the student:

  • help achieve more fluent reading
  • help reading and spelling
  • stop word memorizing and guessing words

We have tried many reading programs in the 19 years we have been homeschooling.  I really like the concept of The Ultimate Phonics Reading Program.  I like how it progresses systematically and how it can be for all age learners.  I like that this program is downloadable and does not need internet so we can use it without worrying about our internet connection. They only draw back that we had was my children do not prefer their school work to be done on the computer.  They like to be able to hold their workbooks and paper.  This program does allow you to print out the work, but it is much easier to progress directly in the computer program.  My children feel that computer time should be for fun and school should be at a table with paper.  I know that we will have to change with the times, but that change is slow in coming to our house.

Connect with Spencer Learning on these social media sites:

At the time of this review the program is on sale for $49.95.  The regular price is $69.95, a $20 discount is available until September 30, 2016.  There is also a free trial to see if this would work for you.

Many others on the Homeschool Review Crew had the opportunity to review this product also.  Click on the banner below to see what they thought.

Ultimate Phonics Reading Program {Spencer Learning}

Crew Disclaimer

This entry was posted in curriculum reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

