Veritas Press- Self Paced Omnibus I Review

We were given the opportunity to review Veritas Press’  Self Paced Omnibus I. I’m not sure what rock I’ve been hiding under for the past 17 years, but I was unfamiliar with Veritas Press until this time.  I am glad I was given the opportunity to use one of their products.  The Self Paced Omnibus is a Classical Style online video program.  Omnibus mean all encompassing, this series covers Bible, ancient history, and literature.  We also given the ebook that went with the program ($37.50).

This is for ages 12 and up.  I used this with Allie who is going into 10th grade (I still can’t believe that!).  Soon after we started this she left for camp, so I continued with it.  I used it about 3 times per week during the past six weeks.  I have done Genesis and Exodus so far.  I like that it was a self paced curriculum meaning you can do as much as you want per day.  There is no set schedule. We were able to kept on track because you can’t skip ahead.  You have to continue the lessons in order.  This is good because I tend to get sidetracked very easily!

Omnibus I covers:

  • Genesis
  • Exodus
  • Gilgamesh Tablets
  • Prologue and Laws
  • 1 & 2 Samuel
  • 1 & 2 Kings
  • Luke
  • Acts
  • Revelation
  • and other books  on the Veritas Vital Source Bookshelf

Video lessons are presented by instructor Bruce Etter.  He is a great speaker.  There are 175 lessons which take 30-90 minutes each depending on how much reading is scheduled for the day.  You can do some of a lesson and then come back another time to complete, but by doing one lesson per school day you would complete this course in one year. You can also opt out of some of the reading and continue with the next lesson.

I like that this covers so much and that it is so Bible centered.  But because of that I was very overwhelmed.  When I first received the product I downloaded the Vital Source Bookshelf program on my Kindle so I could get the ebook.  We started with this and did lots of reading before realizing that I was missing using the online portion of the curriculum.

It’s a beautiful ebook with lots of great pictures and information.

Here is a sample from Genesis and one from Exodus.

Another concern I had was that their theology and ours are not quite the same.  This is written  from a Protestant Reformed perspective.  It did make for lots of great discussion and researching our own answers in the Bible.

While this was not a good match for us for May and June, I really think it’s a great program that Allie would really benefit from.  My plan is to revisit this in August when she starts her 10th grade year and use it as a credit classes for English, History and Bible.

Access to the program is $295 for the first student and a sibling discount of $100.

If you would like to take a closer look you can view  four sample lessons on their website.

Veritas Press can be found on many social media sites: Facebook, Pinterest, Twitter and Google+.

Many others on the TOS Review Crew received this product and many others. To see what they had to say about them, please click on the banner below.

Click to read Crew Reviews

Crew Disclaimer

This entry was posted in curriculum reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

