My Renewed Vision of Homeschooling!

Have you ever had the pleasure of having your thought process come to a screeching halt? Just taking that moment to clear your head and truly listen to what God is trying to get through to you?! I have not had that happen in a very LONG time!!!  I’m always going, thinking, moving, needed…if not, I’m trying to sleep or falling asleep while trying to do something else, lol!  I was very honored that my homeschool co-op sent me the the Home Educators Association of Virginia’s Leadership Convention this past weekend.  It was in beautiful Williamsburg Virginia, at a beautiful hotel and conference center.  The speaker, Doug Bartsch, taught so many valuable lessons about leadership, as a parent, in the church and at my co-op.

We had dinner at the president of HEAV’s house.  Her house was so beautiful and inviting. The food was wonderful and plentiful! But the company was brilliant! What a treasure to be able to speak to so many people that are SO involved in homeschooling.  Since this was a leadership convention everyone here not only had a vested interest in their own families, but in the families of many others.  What totally blindsided me was my vision of my homeschooling!

Rick Boyer and my co-op buddy, Elizabeth

Here’s the nugget that I needed:  I didn’t realize until that moment how much the homeschooling movement has changed in my 17 years of homeschooling!  I think the vision of bringing the family together and raising educated disciples for Christ has been lost in the sea of curriculum choices, co-ops and extra curricular activities.  Not that any of these things are bad, but I had lost the vision in the confusion of doing what’s “right” and “better”.  I had forgotten what the homeschooling pioneers had fought for, why I started and the values I held so dear long ago.  What was once worth fighting for, in the right to educate your own children, is now taken so lightly that the vision is lost. I am ever so grateful to be reminded and will work hard not to be so wrapped up in the small details and miss the big picture.

This entry was posted in 2014's word- RETURN, homeschooling and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Renewed Vision of Homeschooling!

  1. cmjenniferm says:

    What a blessing!

  2. agilitynut says:

    so true, so true indeed. remembering the big picture is what keeps pushing me through. 🙂

Leave a Reply

