Couponing Made Simple Book Review

As a couponer I am always looking for ways to step up my game.  When I had the opportunity to review Couponing made Simple by Chrisi the Coupon Coach I was jumping up and down excited!!! I received a 133 page paperback book.  It is on sale right now for $18.00, regularly $20.00.  This is also available as an ebook through Amazon for $4.99.

I really enjoyed this book.  I was able to read it in one sitting.  It was an easy read with very practical information. I have been couponing for many years.  It’s not an easy hobby, but well worth the work.  I was disappointed when I started couponing again over the last few years.  I would cut and organize my coupons and find the sale match ups.  I would go to the store and be disappointed when I got home that all I had was salad dressing and cereal this trip.  Christi explains this in her book about how the sales cycle, so keep at it!  You will eventually have a more well rounded stockpile.  I so enjoy looking at my pantry with neatly stacked jars, cans and boxes.  It’s so nice to reach for a jar of spaghetti sauce that was free or very cheap.  I do hate having to pay full price for things I can get so cheaply if I plan correctly.

I wasn’t sure what I would get out of this book since I was not new to this.  I have taken away 2 big lessons: one- a more organized filing system and two- don’t try to reinvent or tweak her system, just do it.

I wish I had taken a before picture of my filing system.  What I mess!  I had done it almost the way Christi describes in the book, but she had one piece of advice that changed everything for me!  I am currently using file folders to sort my coupon inserts by week.  I would go through my stack of Sunday papers and pull them out and shove the whole thing in a file folder.  When I was looking for them I had to turn to whatever page of the inserts each time and cut that one coupon and thumb through the whole stack to get another one.  She suggests that you take all of your matching inserts and sort them putting like pages of each insert together.  Brilliant!  Now when I’m looking for a coupon, I go to that folder and look until I find the coupon I’m looking for and there I will also find all of the same exact coupons with it.  No more fumbling through a huge stack.  Also another great reason to do it this way is to cut down on the bulk of pages in each folder.  Not every page has a coupon on it.  This way I could throw that page out.  And when coupons start to expire from that insert I could just remove those pages with expired coupons.  Before this I was waiting until all the coupons from that insert expired and them threw it out.  This new system makes all my coupons fit in the crate I have for them.  No more stacking and losing inserts.

The second thing was to trust the system that Christi has put together.  I never do things quite as I am told.  So when I read this in her book I decided to try it.  I collected my coupons, researched coupon/sale match ups for my store and prepped for shopping!  I usually go to a local store that doubles coupons, I get great deals on certain things, but I wanted to challenge this system to see if it really worked on regular shopping, getting what we actually needed. I was able to save about 20%.  That’s great for me for a “regular” shopping trip.  I did hit the store that doubles and saved 95%.  I love using coupons!  I would not be able to afford to get the things we needed any other way!

Christi is a great coupon coach, whether you are new to this or if you’ve been doing this for a while.  I like having the book for inspiration when I need a little “coupon pick me up”!

Photobucket photo DisclaimerGraphic1_zpsf612f371.gif

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

