Flowering Baby

I had the opportunity to review a product exclusively for little ones! Flowering Baby was developed for children from birth to five years old.  This curriculum was written by a mother/daughter team,  Carolyn Schutle and Martha Saunders.  Mom, Carolyn has a Masters Degree in Early Childhood Education with an emphasis in Special Needs.  Her daughter, Martha is a stay at home, homeschooling mom with one son.  The Flowering Baby series was written with elements of Classical Learning, Charlotte Mason and unit studies- some of my favorites!

I was able to look at more than one level.  With all the little ones here, I wasn’t sure which one I wanted to concentrate on.  At first I thought maybe I could do at least 2, maybe 3 to cover the ages I have here.  As I perused the pdf downloads I decided that I would work with the littlest and bring the other two into it.  That worked great.  I focused on the Birth to One Year level with Thomas.  He was about 4 months old when we started, so I began in the three to six month section.  Each section gives a small suggested list for supplies, books and music. The number of days in each section vary.  This one has 63.  This was a good number of days for this age section.

Here is a sample page for Birth to One Year.

Day one started with talking to Thomas.  I encouraged Evie and Micah to talk to him to.  We used different voices and went to different parts of the room.  Thomas loved the interaction and the other two did too.  Then we read a book.  Day two was playing ‘Pat-A-Cake” and having classical music playing.  Thomas did his first pat-a-cake and Evie and Micah still stop in their busyness to help Thomas, especially the “roll it” part!  I enjoyed that the activities were short and easy.  These are activities that I look back and hoped I had remembered to do with the older kids, and Flowering Baby took it up a notch and added music, age appropriate reminders and encouragement.  Little ones sometimes get lost in the shuffle here in the midst of Algebra, Literature and guitar practice!  This was a no brainer for me to look at the suggested activities and focus some quality time with the younger kids.  Some of our other favorites were the itsy bitsy spider and  Old MacDonald.  We all had fun with the hand motions that go with the songs.  We also had fun with “tummy time”, Evie and Micah took this opportunity to try to teach Thomas to crawl.  What a precious thing to witness.  I’m glad I took the time to stop and purposely play with these 3.

Evie was just about to turn two and Micah was about 14 months, so I also looked at the One to Two year level.  There was also a supplies, books and music list, not a long list at all and most things we already had.  I used some of the activities starting at 23 months.  They were much the same as the younger level, day one suggested playing catch with a ball with music in the background.  Try to pass the ball to the beat, change the music and see if it’s faster or slower and then they played the Hokey Pokey.  We really did enjoy the songs with movement!  Other days include reading books and asking your child questions about what they see and painting.  Here’s a sample of this level.

Plans for one year are $30-$38, you can purchase all the levels together for $132. Use this code, “Blog10” for 10% discount use the code when ordering.


 

Photobucket

*Disclaimer:  I received a free copy of this product through the Schoolhouse Review Crew in exchange for my honest review.   I was not required to write a positive review nor was I compensated in any other way.  All opinions I have expressed are my own or those of my family.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the FTC Regulations.

 

This entry was posted in curriculum reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

