Vocal Coach Singer Review

This is really neat!  How many times do you choose not to take a class because you can’t fit another activity in your schedule.  Enter Vocal Coach! The TOS Review Crew was able to try these 2 different programs: Vocal Coach Singer and  Teaching Kids to Sing.  I received Vocal Coach Singer to use with my older kids.  There is a link at the bottom of this review to see what others said about this and Teaching Kids to Sing.

These products were developed by Chris and Carole Beatty.  They have been teaching people to sing for more than 40 years.  Along with their learn at home products, they teach private vocal coaching and vocal seminars.  They have sold over a million products world wide from beginners to  award winning artists.  They have a passion for what they do and it shows in their products.

I received Vocal Coach Singer as an mp3 file, but it is also available as a 12 CD set.  I enjoyed the mp3 format because we could transfer it to my iPhone and have it where ever we went.  This is targeted for junior high through adults.  I think that it is right on for this age level.

Here’s what’s included:

7 Training CDs:

  • Getting Started
  • Complete Breathing
  • Complete Warm-Up
  • Complete Tone
  • Complete Expanding Your Range
  • Complete Diction
  • Complete Performance

4 Workout CDs:

  • Daily Workout High Voice 1 & 2 for the tenor/soprano range.
  • Daily Workout Medium/Low Voice 1 & 2 for the bass/baritone/alto range.

Additional educational tools:

  • Guidebook – Full-size Instructional Guidebook to ensure success
  • Printable Lead Sheets – each exercise in our course, plus track lists
  • Personal Singer’s Journal (Getting Started Journal & Workout Journal) to track your progress as you become a better singer
  • Vocal Coach Song Evaluation – Evaluation form to enable you to make more thoughtful song selections

This is truly a program by professionals!  I have always wanted to take singing lessons, but something would always get in the way.  This program emphasizes the mechanics of singing — breathing, posture, vocal exercises and expanding range.  I am so glad I got to take this class from my home (and where ever I went).

We used Vocal Coach in a very informal way.  We started listening to the introductions, then to the breathing.  We followed the detailed directions for breathing exercises.  I was surprised at how much I didn’t know and how much  correct posture helps.  I always knew it was important, but now I can explain why and how to correct it.  They explain how these techniques are good for not only singing, but for people who have to do a lot of talking. We enjoyed doing the singing exercises in the breathing section.  We worked through quite a few until it was a challenge to do it all in one breath.  The whole family had fun singing through the scales. We jumped around a bit from tone to diction to range.  There is so much information and so many exercises that we will be using this for a while.  My kids have noticed the difference in their singing and I see them check for things like their posture, neck tension and tone.

Each section varies in length.  Some as short as 24 seconds and some as long as 10 minutes or more.  We were able to pick which ones we had time for.  We enjoyed doing the lessons with our computer in the kitchen while making dinner and in the van using my phone.  Even though this is for older students, my little ones enjoyed singing along too!

Although there is no specific written schedule to follow for daily lessons, the guidebook and the Vocal Coach website offers an amazing amount of support and resources.  You will find a suggested 8-12 week guide in their homeschool section.  I appreciated that they know we all do things differently and offer guidance to fit our families.  They also offer 2 exams- Building Foundations and Essential Skills with answer keys if you would like to test your students.  Their blog is a very useful tool, it has so much information, you can spend lots of time reading and learning there.  They also offer free online classes from time to time.  Vocal Coach Singer is a great value.  You can get the complete 12 CD set for only $119.99 or $99.99 for the mp3 set it is the equivalent of over $2,000 worth of private lessons!

 

 

 

 

Photobucket

*Disclaimer:  I received a free copy of this product through the Schoolhouse Review Crew in exchange for my honest review.   I was not required to write a positive review nor was I compensated in any other way.  All opinions I have expressed are my own or those of my family.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the FTC Regulations.

 

 

This entry was posted in curriculum reviews. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

